Flying Start Aero

Over the past year I have picked up a new hobby that has consumed a lot of my free time and even more of my money. I have taken up flying and am pursuing my private pilots license. Flying has been in my family for two generations and I hope to be the third. To facilitate this dream I have employed the help of John Brown and Flying Start Aero, a flying school located here in Reno, NV.

John started Flying Start Aero many years ago in Minden, after an illustrious career in the corporate world. Owning locations in Mammoth, South Tahoe, and Reno he has serviced much of the western United Stated with flight instruction as well as air taxi and other aviation services. Today John focusses his attention on his Reno office and sports the states most technologically advanced fleet of Cessna airplane for training and rent. With all of his airplanes being 2004 or newer, renters are assured they will receive training in the state of the art equipment.

I fly a 2004 Cessna 172 Skyhawk equipped with a Garmin 1000, this means the plane has a glass cockpit, where all of the gauges and displays are digital. The 172 is a very common trainer plane, being a 4 seat, high wing, naturally aspirated plane. I have just under 40 hours of instruction of the plane, 40 is the minimum you must have before getting your license. Flying Start Aero guarantees you will solo between 13-18 hours which is a great confidence booster for any young pilot. i was able to solo in 14 hours and look to receive my license shortly.

Flying Start Aero offers a great opportunity for citizens of Northern Nevada who wish to leave their earthly bounds and learn to fly. It has given me the opportunity to learn a new and exciting skill as well as explore much of Nevada that I wouldn’t be able to see otherwise. John offers friendly instruction that leads to a great experience and a new found ability.

To contact Flying Start Aero to inquire about lessons, rentals, or scenic flights you can call (775) 856-3655 or visit flyingstartaero.com .

 

 

Leave a comment